Paying for Property Management

6 Replies

Hi all this is my first time asking a question on a forum hope i am doing this right .I think i am finally at the point i need to hire a full time property manager , i am wondering what would be the best way to pay for there service , is it best to hire the property manager as an employee or pay them as an independent contractor.

I would recommend contacting local Property Management companies. While you can hire an independent property manager you are going to want to make sure that whomever you hire has the team, resources and most of all the experience and knowledge to operate your assets.

There is a major, major difference between a legitimate property manager and a true property management professional that comes with industry and market knowledge.

Contact a PM company. They will charge a % of rents. among other fees.

Property management companies charge 8% of the rents here in the columbus area. It all depends on your current returns. Personally I think it's worth it!

I would personally hire them as a independent contractor.  In California PM you will find individuals that prefer to perform the monthly duties of collecting rent, and some that prefer finding tenants, and some will complete both duties.  If the properties are in socal i could possibly help you. I will not though PM anything in Central LA, and prefer orange county up to lakewood and bellflower area.