Team building

10 Replies

HEY BP.  I am new to BP.  I have been a nurse for the last 8 years and have decided that it's no longer fullfillig.  I have been in healthcare a total of 18yrs.  My sister, niece and I have decided we would like to invest in real estate.  I know, I have heard it before, never go into business with family.  But we should be okay as long as roles and profits are clearly defined.  We are looking into flipping and renting homes.  However my question is this.  None of us have experience in real estate.  I have read many times about the importance of creating a team.  I would like to know what are the key players of a good team?  I know you need to have a real estate agent, which I am trying to talk my niece into persuing.  I myself am currenlty working towards my MBA which I feel will help us with management and possibly marketing (haven't decided which MBA to do, Finance or Marketing...decisions).  But I would like to know where we each could focus our strengths.  As a nurse I often feel as though I can do it all....LOL. If we knew what roles were necessary then it would be a little easier for us to focus our learning without being overwhelmed with trying to learn it all (me).  Thanks in advance.

@Melissa Relf   Welcome to the BP Community. This is an amazing resource for real estate investing. You are absolutely right when it comes to building a team, however, teams have entirely different roles for each aspect of real estate investing. I think you need to focus on which direction you would like to go. Once you have a clear, defined route... I think it will become more clear for you.

Now Melissa, many people have done this on their own without teams, or may have different team roles. Real estate investment teams are not preset, like a magic formula. I am only going to provide a few HYPOTHETICAL examples. These are by no means set in stone.

For some examples, you can focus on Wholesaling, Buy and Hold investing, Flipping, etc.