New to the flipping house industry..need advice

7 Replies

Hello,

I am a licensed Real Estate Agent in Maryland and I have decided I want to move over to flipping homes. My husband and I would like to start doing this but we do not know how to get the start up money to purchase our first property. 

does any have any suggestions for the best options?

How is the best way to find great properties to flip?

what is the first things you should do once you find that first property to flip?

Thanks in advance for all your advice. 

Myisha,

Welcome to investing!  You have some really good questions.  You also have a leg up on a lot of beginners because you are an agent.

I might be biased because I am a hard money lender but if you do not have the cash to buy your first property outright, I would reach out to your local hard money lenders. BP has a great list of hard money lenders. I would start there if you do not know of anyone. Hard money lenders can be a great resource because they are usually investors themselves and you can lean on their experience as well as their money. Each lender will be slightly different so be sure to ask a lot of questions. Depending on your cash situation, you might want to find one that will lend both the purchase price and the repairs. These lenders will base their loan on the after repair value (ARV). In doing their due diligence on you and the property they will be able to double check your math and make sure that it is a good deal. a good rule of thumb is to have your purchase price and repairs be as close to or under 70% of the ARV if possible. Of course if you find a lender that will give you this much money, it will not be cheap so be prepared for higher points and interest rates.

Once you get a couple of deals under your belt and have more confidence and the experience to back it up, you might be able to raise some private money from friends and family.  This is usually cheaper than hard money.