Financing for Newbie

17 Replies

Hello everyone I am a newbie trying to get started. I have meet some very successful investors, some that have written books on how to invest in real estate both for flipping homes and cash flow. I have been told that you can get started with no credit and not use any of your own money or borrow from banks. 

My question is have any of you started out with no money, small down payments, low to no credit and still been successful at purchasing properties? 

Kenneth, I am in the same boat as you. I would also be interested in hearing about this. I have not had a lot of real world experience with financing and from what I have heard, the best option for those in your particular situation would be some form of creative financing like doing a seller financed property, lease option, etc. 

But again, I am like you and want to hear from some people who actually have had some measure of experience/success with these sorts of deals. 

Good luck Kenneth!

Hey,

I'm very green aswell but I thought I'd share. I currently have a Tri-plex and SFR. I purchased the SFR first. I lucked out and secured seller financing for a 5 yr term. The Tri-plex I actually pulled cash out of a paid for asset to cover the down payment. Both properties are cash flowing.

I for one am a little weary of some of the "creative" financing such as credit cards and things.  Not to say I will never do them but it'll have to be a little more seasoned for me to sleep at night.

Welcome to BP.

There are many ways to buy real estate without having a lot of money on hand. Based on your statement, you have to go with creative financing particularly owner financing. 

It's NOT very easy, but possible. After the 2006 collapse of real estate market, lending guidelines have taken a 180 degree swing and those days are gone where you could get money without showing any income or even with no credit. 

Again, creative financing is your best solution at this point.