First investment for an international kid !!!!!!!!

8 Replies

Hello everybody, 

I am new to real estate and I haven't bought my first house yet. The reason why is that I am not even in the US yet since I am from a small island in the caribbean. I am not American but I felt in love with the USA and also with real estate! I will have a chance to come and live the next year and I was already trying to plan what I would do once I get here. Because I am not from the US I do not have a credit history (so I will have to build one really quickly) and I found out last week that on top of a 20% down payment the bank also ask for you to show that you have been working for the same employer for more than 2 years! I was surprised by that and the problem is I don't want to wait 2 years before I get the chance to make my first investment. I know there are a lot of investors on this forum with a lot of knowledge and I would love to get your insight on my situation. Any advice on how to get started early or what else I could do would be really appreciated. If you know any other way I could qualify for a mortgage please let me know! By the way I am 25 (I don't know if this has any importance but hey you never know). 

Thanks a lot

Allan 

@Allan Saint-Gelais   you sound like you have a lot of enthusiasm which is great!

Just watch out, however for anyone who would like to scam you.  There are a lot of great people around, especially on the forums here, but sometimes when people learn you are from out of the country, they want to take advantage of you.

When you are hunting for real estate to invest in, you have a great resource here on Bigger Pockets which is the Deal Analysis forum.  You can post information about a deal you're looking to invest in and people will offer up their opinions on it for no charge.

@Dawn Anastasi thanks for you answer and advices but what do you think I should do? Do I have to wait the two years or is there another option for me to get started?