Becoming a landlord in Greensboro NC

1 Reply

The title may not be the best considering my thoughts, but here it goes.

There are quite a few questions that come to mind especially when I saw a news report about more people renting than owning property (has me intrigued but not completely sold on the idea).  Some of the things that I have wondered about are how those who are already landlords got the properties that they are renting?  Is it ever a good idea to go with a pre-rented deal (property owner selling and they already have tenants living in the unit)?  How you handle the process of tenant screening?

I would put more but as of right now I'm still looking, researching the different avenues of RE investing so this may seem like a scatterbrained post.

Hello @Seneca Stephens ,

A good question. Before I continue, know that I am a Realtor in Las Vegas and my practice is almost exclusively remote investors. In my practice I frequently deal with whether to recommend a tenant occupied property or a vacant one. Below are my thoughts on the pros and cons.

Pros

• Immediate income - Since the tenant is already in the property you start receiving income from day one.
• The tenant already signed a lease so you can get a copy and know the terms.
• Possible existing relationship with a property manager that already knows the property and its maintenance issues.
• You know the rent amount so it is easy to determine whether the property will generate a profit.

Possible Cons