Fees for REIA meetings?

26 Replies

Greetings BP!

As a newbie I'm trying to absorb as much of the great info here as possible. I'm scheduled to attend my first REIA meeting this evening. However when I received the confirmation email it indicated a registration fee of $20. I didn't see anything about fees when I signed up and although I have no problem paying the $20 for potentially great info and networking possibilities, I was just wondering if this is typical. I understand the organizers have to pay for the venue, so I'm guessing its normal and not something to run from. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance.

Brian

Hi Brian! Which REIA is it? Usually, REIAs let people attend their general meetings for free on the first visit. Or, this meeting you signed up for might be at a restaurant, so the cost could be covering your meal. Otherwise, yes, you can pay by the meeting, or purchase a yearly membership. I paid about $179 or so to be Baltimore REIA member; I can also write this expense off since I have a business.

@Brian Risi  What @Nicole W. said. Our REI allows the first meeting for free, then $10/meeting. Yearly membership is $150/year. We have 3 meetings a month (for those who were doing quick math).

@Brian Risi  

Fees are typical and common.

You might try meetup.com for free meetings.

Money paid is worth it for connections and learning.

Paul

Thanks everyone! I'm still blown away by how quickly everyone here is willing to answer questions and provide info.

@Nicole W. The group is Capital City REIA. The meeting is at a hotel (conveniently on my way home from work), so I'm guessing most of the cost is going to cover the renting the meeting room.

@Joe Villeneuve  Sounds like a good deal...wish I was in your area :)

Account Closed That's what I figured, and like I said, I'm willing to invest the money in my education. I did actually sign up for this particular one through meetup.com, on the advice of another BP member.