How do you choose your "subject" property for comps when just starting out?

8 Replies

Hi everyone! 

I'm just starting out in REI and can't seem to figure out how to properly do a comp in my area (Antioch, CA). How did some of you choose your "subject" property when first starting out? Did you just choose any listing and make it your subject property?

Since I'm fairly new, I don't know what a good price or good deal is in my area. How do you learn this when starting out? I feel like this is the only thing holding me back from getting started.

I've been reading the book on flipping houses by @J Scott  He provides a great overview, but my market is a lot different. If some of you could chime in and share your experiences, that would be greatly appreciated!

J. M.

Thank you,

Jordan Sizelove

The subject property is the one you're trying to find the value for.

Look at houses that have SOLD in the same neighborhood if possible. Try not to cross any major streets and definitely not highways. Look back 6 months for houses with a comparable room/bathroom/garage number and close to the same square footage +/- 10% is a good idea but not a solid rule.

@Wayne Brooks  Thank you Wayne. I guess I wasn't very clear. What I'm really trying to find out is, based on your selected criteria, do you do a comp for every single property that fits your criteria? There's so many different listings.

@Jared Benson  Thanks Jared. What exactly makes up a neighborhood? I know that some places have a specific name for that neighborhood. How do you know when a neighborhood ends? And what if there aren't any comps within 5 miles? Is there a way to search for properties that have sold recently within a radius of subject property?