Getting started young and where do I start with real estate investing? How do I find my mentor?

37 Replies

Im 19 years old in San Antonio, Texas and I want to take on the heart of San Antonio with real estate investing. I have no previous knowledge of the subject but I am more than willing to get educated and put in the time and work to turn this into my living. 

I graduated with a 4.0 in high school but was not interested in pursuing college and finding a job in corporate America. While there is nothing wrong with that, I am obsessed with the realm of real estate and want to completely immerse myself into investing.

My questions are:
How would a beginner, like myself, approach real estate investing with no cash, credit or credibility? What route is my best bet with said circumstances?

How do I find a mentor to guide my way into this new world I have only recently discovered? Whether it be in my area, over the internet, etc.

Also, is there any advice that anyone in this business would give to their younger self if starting at this age?

I know the road isn't easy but I know starting early on and giving 100% of my efforts, the road is doable.

@Account Closed  

Welcome. Best to start with a  foundation of knowledge.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 90 past ones to catch up on.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers.

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook