How do I REALLY get started?

12 Replies

Good Morning Everyone, 

I am a new real estate investor that is ready to dive in. I am limited on funds but if needed I would be able to obtain a loan. So far I have driven around searching for vacant properties that could possibly be deals, sent out some hand written notes, and received two phone calls from obviously unmotivated sellers. One in fact should have been a motivated seller and I think I messed it up leaving too much time in between contact. Any ideas or advice on how I can REALLY get started? How can I make this process easier since I do have a full time 0700-1600? 

I feel your pain. 
I work from 7am to 6pm 5 days a week then 7am to 3pm on Saturdays.
It's hard to get started with limited funds and another mouth to feed on the way. But anything is possible! It helps alot when you know how to talk to people, my fulltime job I am a salesman/mechanic. So i'm not shy about talking to people and making deals! 

Just get out there and do your best! 

Promotion
PropStream
Web + D4D Mobile App for you & the team!
Trusted Provider of Real Estate Data, Marketing, Skip Tracing & A
#1 Real Estate Software for Investors, Agents & Brokers to find leads and close deals nationwide.
7 Day Free Trial!

By REALLY learning RE, what a RE agent must know, the text books are about $35.00 and you can read them and understand what RE is and how things are structured, after that you can read what you think is an RE education of tactics, marketing, strategies, ways to pull off deals as none of that is really RE. Over half the questions asked here wouldn't be if folks actually learned RE. After you know what you're really working with and investing in, you can read all the guru stuff you want to. :)

Assuming that one can find deals, my concerns are really more around what checklist I need to keep track of as I move from deal analysis in a spreasheet to final closing.