How do I start reaching out to investors in the Los Angeles area?

6 Replies

Hey everyone, I'm brand new at this, and I wanted to ask a question.

I think wholesaling is the best way for me to start my career in real estate.  I found a mortgage broker in Manhattan beach, and I want to sit down with him for about 20 minutes.  My goal from this meeting is to connect with a real estate investor, and I think it's likely he would know a few.

The thing is, I don't really know what to say or how to go about that meeting.  I have a few key ideas for an intelligent conversation, but I could use a few pointers to iron things out.

1. I'll have something to offer.  I am good at copy editing, so if he needs a business letter or proposal cleaned, I'll do that for free in exchange for a meeting.

2. State my intentions.  Tell him I'm interested in wholesaling, and I'm looking for investors to connect with.

I think my sticking point is getting this man to care about helping me, and I was wondering if any of you could give me a few tips.  Perhaps I'm going to the wrong person for an initial meeting? 

Hi @Brandon Snyder  

Welcome to BP from a fellow Angeleno investor. 

It is likely that your mortgage broker may have some contacts that will be of use for you, but I wouldn't look for the meeting to solve all of your investor needs. He/she may not even understand wholesaling enough to give you any meaningful information in that regard.

If I were you, I'd meet with him with the goal of getting three other investor contacts that you can in turn setup follow-up meetings with. Keep the conversation high-level and think of ways that you can provide value to him. Ask questions about any special financing deals or investor-friendly financing he might be able to educate you about.