Should I relocate to a new market? (Wholesaling)

10 Replies

Hi All,

This is my first post! :) I'm just getting started in my wholesaling career and I'm happy to report that I've done my first deal. I've got all of the basics down in regards to marketing, working with title companies, understanding the value add process and all of that jazz.

I'm also at a point where I want to move to a new city to experience new things.

I'm at a point in my life where I'm single and in my late 20's I want real estate (particularly wholesaling because I see it as a good entry point into the industry) to be a part of my wealth building plan. Obviously its imperative that I move into a market that will support this. Moving into a rural area, for example isn't an option.

I wil be relocating to the new city and immediately look for a full time job. I have a Bachelors degree and good resume experience. I don't plan on relying on house flipping to get me through my first few months.

So for those who are experienced, my question is: do you have any advice for me at the early stages of my investing career? Are any of my top cities bad places to wholesale? Southern California and Denver are my focus, both that I feel may be good markets but I'm not 100% sure and I'm filled up with a bit of doubt.

My top 3 cities are:

1. San Diego, California

2. Denver, Colorado,

3. Long Beach, California,

Thank you all for any advice that you can offer! I really appreciate everything in advance and hope that I too soon can be a top contributor for this site!!

Thank you!

John

@Jonathan Baker , I think any of those cities would work. You will find deals if you work hard and you will find competition in each market as well. I think you're question is very broad and there is much more to think about in regard to where you want to live rather than if you can make wholesaling work for you there. Best of luck.

Where are you now? 

What's your current day job?