how many offers do i need to make before i get a yes?

18 Replies

I'm fairly new to real estate investing and have done a lot of marketing to try to wholesale deals. How many offers do i need to make before someone says yes?  I'm getting creative with not just negotiating price but terms as well for buy and hold investors. 

Been doing this for about 9 months now with no success. I've made 6 offers out that 9 months. What's the magic formula or number I should be striving for? 

More!  No secret, in sales it is the 9th,10th,11th..... that separates the best from the others.

Your answer will come when you get "yes" for an answer.  It's just that simple.  There isn't a magic formula of attrition.  There are two rules:

1 - Only make offers based on the numbers you need, not the seller.

2 - Don't rationalize rule #1...you'll lose.

Are you dealing with motivated sellers?  If not you are wasting your time and you need to put a system in place to attract them. 

How close have you gotten?

What ultimately happened with the "close misses"?

If you aren't getting counters(or they are way off), then either your offers are way to low or you need to find sellers that are more motivated.

Yeah no secret formula, but you need to put out more offers.

After 9 months that number should have a 0 (if not 2 of them) in front of it.

At 6 offers it would have just been dumb luck to have actually gotten something accepted.

thanks for all the love and advice.  i've gotten into negotiation war with the most recent seller i've encountered but we couldn't agree on terms and i had to walk away.  i talked to a handful of actually motivated sellers but there was nothing i could do for most of them.   

it just seems a little discouraging when you been trying but nothings worked so far.  I suppose there's nothing else to do but to keep making offers and finding sellers