Five people left me voicemails today from my yellow letter campaign...what now?!?! I'm a total rookie.

7 Replies

Congrats on the campaign and people calling! Ask them everything. Is it owned free and clear? What do they owe? What deferred maintenance needs to be done? What is it rented at? What are the expenses? Why are they selling? What is the condition? Ask for profit and loss statements if they have them. What is their asking price? Are the tenants on leases? What kind? Being a 4plex comps can be ran via MLS. Try to get that done before you go so you know what it's worth. You can ask most of this on the phone. You want them to have equity and be motivated. You find that combo and you found your 4plex. I would look into some other options other then FHA if you are looking for a low DP some banks offer only 5% down mortgages if you search you can see that the FHA vs Conventional has been beat to death!

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)

As about their house and why they want to sell. Michael Quarles walked through the questions he asks during a phone call in podcast 77 if I remember correctly.

No you don't need to bring your realtor along unless you are just looking for some advice or a secondary opinion. When you walk through the property take down as many negative things as you can. Look for things that you can use later to negotiate/explain your offer.

Liabilities:Bad railings, Tree over hanging neighbors home, etc. 

Visually inspect: Roof, Under sinks, Look at the water heater and hvac for signs of age/wear, look at piping stacks, look for code violations, look at the electrical system, flip light switches, flush toilets, turn sinks on, look at the foundation. 

Take tons of pictures. 

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)