Should I get a buyers agent to represent me in my first deal?

6 Replies

I am new to real estate investing, and I am going to meet with a local real estate agent in Greenville, SC to potentially become partners. I would essentially find the deals off market, and he would run the comps (since I don't have access to the MLS), and walk me through closing my first assignment of a house. Could anyone give me advice as to whether or not this is a good move? I guess the only draw-back is that he would be getting his share of the deal. But heck, I figure it would be better to see how it's done for the first couple times. Is my thinking right on this?

God bless,

Are you looking to wholesale?  If you are looking to use an agent to wholesale he/she you can bargain with for help. i.e. "All deals I find that I cannot wholesale I will forward to you to list, in return can you run comps for me for the properties I am going to wholesale."

Using an agent will help you tremendously and can be very effective for both parties.

Ben - if you're new to buying a home and want guidance it's probably a good idea on at least the first one.

Normally, with a deal on MLS the seller is paying the buyer's agent commission. In an off-market deal you will likely be paying that directly instead. When you sign a Buyer Representation Agreement you will agree to a payment (probably in the 2.5-3% range but it's negotiable, especially if you are doing most of the work). If the seller agrees to pay this then normally that removes any responsibility you have to pay the agent.

Hope that helps and good luck!

Are you planning on investing or wholesaling?