Negative Nellys

13 Replies

What do you say to the naysayers? And what if that naysayer is your spouse? My thought is that actions speak louder than words, so I'm hoping that my first flip & fix is a success, which will speak for itself. Anyone have any experience with negative nellys in your life when it comes to REI?

Personally, if my spouse and I aren't on the same page then we either need to work together to find a solution that's acceptable or it's not a good plan. If your spouse is against the flip and it goes well I guess you can say you were right. But what happens to your relationship if they were against it all along and it doesn't go as successfully as planned? 

@Rachel Gill  Don't give up!  I am just starting out also and have came across several naysayers.  If they aren't your spouse, great, more deals for you.  If they are then communication is key.  Point them to the forums, pod-casts and the Ultimate Beginners Guide.  

For me having a salary and investing in my 401k isn't something I want to count on exclusively. Diversification is a term usually applied to stock market/retirement investing but is something I want to apply to my income.  Income diversification to me is the key independence.  If I lose my job, no problem I got another income stream via rental cash flow.  That's the plan anyway, now I just need to get that first deal! 

@Rachel Gill  listen to the newest podcast, she talks about her problems starting out 

every business has growing pains 

i do NOT listen to anyone that is not in this business

if you love this biz never give up,it will pay off

@Rachel Gill  as your spouse may know and fear, a lot of people fail (most?) at RE investing. It is certainly not easy,however, you have a huge advantage over most of them- BP.   

If it was me I would be empathizing that fact to my spouse.  As far as anybody else especially those outside the business, talk to the hand.   

Originally posted by @Rachel Gill :