Business Cards

9 Replies

Hello everyone on biggerpockets how are you? Well I hope this makes sense and hope its not a dumb question but I am just starting out as a real estate investor. If I get business cards and lets say for example I name my company ABC investing. Before I get those business cards do I need to have an LLC. or INC. or sometime of corporation before I can say my company name is ABC investing? Please help me out I am lost.

I could be wrong but I believe as long as you don't incorporate your company you would be considered a sole proprietor. 

Does this make sense? 

You can put anything you want on your business cards, but why would you want to buy cards with a name that you may not end up using?

First, check to see if the name is available for a website. Go to GoDaddy.com to see if the website with your name is available. Then, if it is, check with your Secretary of State to see if the business name is available. (You can do this online.)

Once you have reserved the name for a website and with your state, get your business cards, not the other way around.

Originally posted by @Steve Yoo :

I could be wrong but I believe as long as you don't incorporate your company you would be considered a sole proprietor. 

Does this make sense? 

I'm sorry I don't understand. Please explain. god bless

Originally posted by @Karen Rittenhouse :

You can put anything you want on your business cards, but why would you want to buy cards with a name that you may not end up using?

First, check to see if the name is available for a website. Go to GoDaddy.com to see if the website with your name is available. Then, if it is, check with your Secretary of State to see if the business name is available. (You can do this online.)

Once you have reserved the name for a website and with your state, get your business cards, not the other way around.

Karen thank you so much for that advice I will do that now. God bless.