Debt free with 50k to play

21 Replies

I've been a fan of Dave Ramsey for quite some time.  I've lived my life pretty much debt free even before I heard about him, and was looking for some input on getting started.  Here's where I'm at:  sold my primary residence and profited 100k.  I just bought a fixer upper that I intend to live in (I'm a carpenter by trade) and that will leave me with 50k to start my rental company.  My credit score isn't great (lack of history mostly), and it's at 618.  Does this even qualify me for a loan?  Or should I stick to straight cash purchases.  Thanks for the help. 

The question you are asking is, should you stick with Dave Ramsey or not?  He would probably recommend that you have an emergency fund.  He would also recommend that you not use debt to buy investment real estate.

I am sorry that I am not answering your question.

Good Luck.

Bill

What is your plan with your current home?  Do you plan to fix it up to sell/rent or live in it long-term?  Either way I would take care of it first, before looking for an investment.

I recommend getting a credit card - pay it off every month - to build up your credit score.  You won't get good terms on loans with a score that low.  The good news is your high enough it should be fixable in to the prime range, especially if it is a lack of history that is dragging it down.

@Jaron Tibbe  

I challenge you to talk with 3 bakers this week and find out what options you have. Don't buy all cash if you CAN get some good financing.  I would recommend your small time local banks or credit union. They are usually the most helpful and flexible. 

650 credit score is usually required for conventional loan. but again see about an in house loan, rates may be higher but if you find a killer deal it might pay out.  

Just don't let inaction stop you.