2% rule and CAP rate vs. COC return

7 Replies

Hello,

I am new to REI and BP. I have been looking at property in San Diego (which is listed as the most expensive city in the US) and I am able to find properties that meet more than 15% cash on cash return, but do not meet the 2% rule, and have 5-7% CAP rate.

Is one rule more important than the rest? Or is it all really subjective? Any advise is greatly appreciated. I am at the beginning of my journey in REI.

Breanne

Welcome to BP. it's a great place to put and end to your restless nights :)

My $0.02 is that there is no single supreme rule, it's rather a harmony of rules that we all bend and adjust to make an overall "music to my ears". It largely depends on your objective with the purchase, which if you can disclose, we can give you more info on your strategy.

Hi @Bogdan Cirlig  ,

I am looking to Buy and hold. Of course I want positive cash flow, but I am not looking for an immediate return. Does that make sense? 

send me a PM or post here how you finance the deal and some numbers and we can all look and give you feedback. There's a forum "analyze my deal" best to do it there.

I don't have a particular property with numbers yet. I have been doing to math on what I've been seeing on the MLS and I haven't been able to find any that meet the 2% or CAP rules. Some of the posts I have seen give the impression that I will go bankrupt if I don't meet the 2% rule. From my perspective, if I am making more than 15% COC return, with positive cash flow (albeit not substantial), I am not doing so badly. But I wanted to see if there was something really flawed with my thinking.

Once I have real numbers I will definitely be asking advise, but for now i'm just looking for general opinions on the rules so I don't waist too much time looking at properties that won't work. Thanks, again!

@Breanne A.