What to Do with a 'Tired Landlord' Who Isn't Motivated or Desperate?

14 Replies

Hi everyone! I'm still a newbie that's learning to crawl in this REI world. In looking to find my 'first deal', I had a conversation with a friend about his condo property.

He purchased this condo in 2007 as a 2nd investment property. 6 years, a marriage, and a move of primary residence to the other side of town later: he's a landlord that likes being a landlord when the condo is rented and finds the 'tenant turnover' phase rather annoying.

He owes 'about' $120K, while the property is worth 'about' $105K (according to him). It's a fairly turnkey property. My friend is neither motivated nor desperate, but I can't shake the feeling that this is a deal worth pursuing.

What would you folks do in my situation?

There is no deal here.

He is underwater & likes being a landlord. He is not motivated to sell.

Why would he pay money to sell the condo to you? When he can continue to have the tenants pay down his mortgage.

Doesn't seem to be a deal here.  He might be stuck landlording, but he doesn't seem truly tired of it.  

I don't think any landlords like vacancies, especially if they are relying on rent to get the principal paid down to get out of an underwater situation.

Not a deal. No equity and he doesn't sound motivated enough to bring a bunch of cash to closing to get rid of it or wreck his credit on a short sale. Unless he's way off on the value then where do you see a deal with those numbers? Even if you took it sub2 with nothing down why would you want to have negative equity in the place?

I don't like condos in particular due to the HOA fees. If he owed 65-70k you may have a deal if he just "wanted out".

A tired landlord is someone who is simply just fed up and wants out. A good time to get properties like that is right after a tenant trashed the place.