New to BP and Real Estate Investing in Philadelphia area

5 Replies

Hello,

I'm a newer member to BP from the Philadelphia area specifically Montgomery County looking to get into flipping houses in Montgomery county. My dad had the old Carlton Sheets books, video tapes and cassettes. I went through those books and read Flip this house and Millionaire real estate investors (great books). I've been working in the corporate world for about 10 years and looking to get into real estate investing part time. I've been searching deals on trulia, received MLS listings from our realtor that helped us find our home, and searching foreclosure properties at the county courthouse. I'm unsure if I should use cash I have saved up to put money down and finance the rest of the property and rehab or take out a HEL for down payment and rehab? Any advice on starting out with financing or finding potential properties would be helpful. I have listened to a few of the podcast and they have been amazing. Also my other question is do I need all cash for a foreclosure or can I finance some of it? I guess it depends on the county. Thanks and happy to be here.

Welcome @Steve Francis  

I work in good old Conshy, if you're ever around and want to get coffee or lunch, let me know. I'm also currently working on a flip in Philadelphia, where I live, so you're welcome to  come see that hot mess as well! 

Conshy is hot so any decent deals go quickly and I doubt you're finding anything flippable on the MLS anyway. Plymouth Meeting and a few other areas seemed to have a bit more inventory from what I recall but again, slim pickings on the MLS. Not sure I'd advise going to auctions for your first property, lots of unknowns. You could always market for your own properties. Also, tell everybody what you do and ask if they know of anyone that may be interested in selling.