New guy on the block! Just introducing myself

11 Replies

Hi BP Community,

My name is Devin, just a guy from the greater Boston area (Go Pats!) with a passion for investments. I currently attend business school (Bentley University) and for about two years now I have been ferociously trying to find the best route toward passive income and financial freedom (which I'm sure you all are too). 

I have been listening to the BP podcast on my drives to school and I'm currently in the middle of a real estate investing book called "The Real Estate Investor's Handbook" by Steven D. Fisher and I'm learning so much about all the real estate jargon. I have also read Rich Dad Poor Dad which I know is a common suggestion for books to read. I am open to any and all advice there is to offer. Most importantly, I'm fired up to start this journey!

Welcome to the site man!

Welcome!! 

As a newbie, I find the majority of my answers to my questions through the search tool up above. Reading through the forums, blogs and listening to the podcast, has most definitely beat any book thus far. (Yet, I continue to find myself reading books!)

There is a post I stumbled across the the other night that list about a dozen books that's recommended. Give it a search!

Much success, @Devin Rodrigues  ! 

@Caressa T.  Thank you. Your insight is much appreciated. It must be something about the physicality of picking up a book and reading it that makes it that much better. Nice to know I'm not the only one trying to get the hang of things.

@Devin Rodrigues  

Welcome. Time to build the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses,The Book on Estimating ReHab Costshttp://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook