Dragging my feet or educating myself

18 Replies

I am naturally an anxious person and worry/plan out A LOT of things, trying to be prepared for surprises.  I know that investing and, real estate in particular, is full of the unknown, especially for a newbie.  I definitely feel like I am in analysis paralysis mode and am trying to get the courage to make my first purchase.  My husband, on the other hand, is much more spontaneous and has the opposite go with the flow mentality.

I'm just curious.... how long did you spend learning about real estate before you jumped on in?  Also, any advice to get over analysis paralysis would be greatly appreciated!

I do not have any answers for you, but I am subscribing as I am a newbie as well. 

Hi Kristi,

We are neighbors- I live in Belleville.  Welcome to BP!

For us, it took about 2 months of reading up on different types of real estate investing before we started actually looking for property, and about another 2 months to actually start making offers on some.  We liked the buy and hold strategy and bought our first house two years ago and the second a few months later.  We have been searching for a house to flip (or fix and rent out) but haven't found a deal that makes us comfortable, so we are now going after properties 3 and 4 to buy and hold.

My husband and I are cautious people and both purchases were nerve racking, so if you feel that way it is normal in my opinion!

Kelly

@Kristi R. - I'm curious to know what others are saying. I've been at this (in theory) for about a 1+. In that time, I've paid a nominal fee to a local real estate investor's association for mentoring; obsessively listened to BP podcasts;  spent hours pouring over blogs; and spent hours more watching YouTube videos on investing...