Any Advice on Owner Financing?..

20 Replies

Hey BP. 

Currently have an offer in on a property. The seller/owner is willing to do owner financing. Zillow has it for 200 + and the county has it listed as a multifamily. We have agreed to write up the contract for 150. with 10% percent down payment. 

I have never done an owner finance before, my question is what are some of the things i need to have in writing to cover myself, and what do i need to know going into this deal?.

I would make sure you read the various seller financing blogs on this site. Make sure you understand terms length of loan, interest rate, down payment. What is your goal with the property as well. A lot of what you are going to need to get seller financing is going to depend on your end goal. Is this a wholesale, rehab, buy and hold? Determine your clear end goal and work backwords from there.

Get full title work done with title insurance and never, ever do a Land Contract or Contract for Deed.  Title won't transfer to you with those until it's paid off.  Do a Note and Deed of Trust / Mortgage.  Here you can also do a Real Estate Contract that still puts the property in your name day 1, but has a few less protections for you if you do default.  Talk to a title co about common ways to properly structure a seller-financed deal in your area.  Congrats and good luck @Tyon Pascal  !

Get a good lawyer to review the contract.

@Tyon Pascal  

You need legal assistance since it appears you're unfamiliar with the entire process. Thinking you can take this process on alone is dangerous.  Do it right by getting everything drafted and/or approved by legal counsel and you can rest easier thereafter. 

Take help from legal adviser, they will help you in order to take a decision for owner financing.

Originally posted by @Guy Gimenez :

@Tyon Pascal