Best Option for Newbies?

18 Replies

I've been researching for the past couple years about real estate investing and I'm intrigued with the "Buying and Holding", "Subject To" and "Zero Down" deals. Out of ALL the methods community, which one would you suggest for a newcomer?

The is no one best way to start. It depends on your goals and your resources. Where are you starting from?

The first step is get educated and start learning your options. There are some very good getting started guides under the learn tab above.

I'm in the Stafford, VA area. I've been researching for about 2 years now and I'm ready to get to work.

Thanks Ned for that response. I am in a similar place as Daniel and I'm working now to educate myself about the business, the market and networking with fellow investors.

Thanks again.

@Ned Carey

Maybe you can add some insight on this deal I'm thinking about 'pulling the trigger' on.

It's a 2 unit duplex with tenants already occupying one unit for only 105k. I'm planning on getting a FHA loan. The going rent for 2 bedrooms in the area is right around $900 and there are 4 bedrooms in the building all together. Your thoughts?

ON the surface this seems like an OK deal based on the rent vs the price but that is a pretty crude assessment.  The deal would likely work from a cash flow standpoint but I have no idea if this is a good deal or a bad deal relative to your market. 

@Daniel Ham