Buying a Multifamily home as an investment property

4 Replies

Hello BP,

I am currently 25 years old with a stable 9-5 job in Southern NH, right on the border of MA. Currently living with my parents and have saved up enough money for a 20-25% down payment for houses in the 200K~ range. 

My goal is to find a 2-4 unit multiplex and I will hire a property manager as I have no handyman experience at all. I do not intend to live in this so it would be fully rented as well. 

So my question is, does this seem like a viable idea in the current area I live? Is there anything in particular I should be wary of? I still have much more research to do and any advice is greatly appreciated!

Congrats on saving so much and allowing yourself the opportunity to do this!  As your first property, I think it is a great idea to house hack your way to a first rental.  You will be able to purchase it with less money down as long as you're planning on living there.  

In terms of hiring a PM my advice would be to think about what you would want them to do before you commit.  Do you just want someone who is handy that can fix some of the problems that will arise or are you looking for someone who will list the property, screen the tenants, etc.  If you don't mind doing the latter part-screening  tenants and showing the property- then I would just look around for a handyman that you can build a relationship with and call on when you need a handyman fix.  If you're looking to buy the property and be hands off of everything then I would consider hiring a PM.

Hope this helps and best of luck!

Hi Sijie,