Google voice

3 Replies

Hey guys I'm just getting started and I went to set up Google voice and noticed a lot of news stories that said Google voice would be removed in the coming months.  Anyone have any information about this? I'm trying to decide if It's even worth it to set up Google voice. 

Hey @Chris Graham . I'm not sure if you've picked something else or not, but Google Voice isn't going anywhere. Way too many people love and use this, and Google even sort of upgraded that service into a fully fledged MVNO cell service called Project Fi, using Sprint and T-Mobile's networks.

I've been using GV for some years now and low it, although recently they've integrated it into Google Hangouts. I love that as it's a one-stop shop for my messaging/calling needs. It's a great service, and probably the best free option out there to get an actual phone number you can forward to any phone, or multiple phones at once, including calls through Gmail and the Hangouts extensions/applications.

I also use Google Voice as a secondary number when I'm renting a property. It helps me to be able to answer my primary line and have confidence that it's someone who I want to have my number and not a potential tenant calling to ask about renting my house. 

Originally posted by @Elizabeth S. :

I also use Google Voice as a secondary number when I'm renting a property. It helps me to be able to answer my primary line and have confidence that it's someone who I want to have my number and not a potential tenant calling to ask about renting my house.