Skip to content
Starting Out

User Stats

Votes
Max Baender
  • Atlanta, GA
Votes |
Build & Hold - A valid strategy to build a portfolio of income properties?

Max Baender
  • Atlanta, GA
Posted Mar 10 2015, 10:27

Hi there.

I am pretty new to real estate investing. Currently, I am trying to evaluate a strategy to build a portfolio of income properties in the Greater Atlanta Area.

This thread is to pick your brains and to get ideas/ feedback for a "general strategy":

So far, I have been reading about "buy and hold" and it seems like a pretty straight forward approach. However, I couldn't find anything about "build an hold".

I am currently working on getting my contractor's license in the state of Georgia.
Originally, I "only" wanted to build our own family home, and to get upfront experience I apprenticed with a local builder for about a year. I know that I don't need a contractor license to build me own home. However, as I learned some months into my apprenticeship, banks won't lend me any money if I don't have a licensed and insured contractor doing the work for me. So, why not getting a contractor license then, if I am "half way there" with my apprenticeship anyways?! I know that this will still take me quite some time, but let's ignore that for argument's sake.

So, here's the idea: 

A contractor has roughly a profit margin of 20% in each house he builds.
This means that when I finish building our own house, I have about 20% equity in that house right from the start. (I don't have to pay myself. Fortunately, my wife's income is sufficient for us.) Now, I could take that equity - as a HELOC for example (any ideas?) - and use that to finance the construction of the first income property. 20% is what a bank asks as down payment for a building a new construction. So from there on, the whole thing could snowball into a considerable portfolio of income properties as the profit margin/ build-in-equity could be used for the next one.