The chicken or the egg... advice please.

16 Replies

Newbie here...

So, I've heard on the podcast a few times that the deal is the hard part.  And if you find a good deal, the money will be easy.

So my question is, do I start marketing toward sellers, and work out a deal as if I know I have the money covered (not necessarily telling them its cash, but with the confidence that the money is "there"), and then after an agreement is reached (presumably the agreement says I have 30 days to close?), I go find the money in those 30 days?

What do you do if for some reason you don't find the money?

I don't want to put a seller in a position where they think they have their property sold, and then not be able to follow through... But I also don't want to fall into the trap of analysis paralysis, where I need to have everything lined up first... and then I'm dealing with "the chicken or the egg". 

Any advice?

I would line up a financing option that would allow you to purchase the property.  That may not be your preferred exit strategy, but that would allow you to close a deal and not leave the seller stuck with an unsold property.

If you have skills as a contractor your best option might be to partner with someone who has capital, but not the skills to fix/improve properties.

Happy St. Patrick's day, good question.  If it were me, I would attend some real estate groups in your area and start making contacts.  See who the mover and shakers are and what these investor types might be looking for;  I would line up my investor types first;  you might also explore the Joint Venture route;  contact some of you friends and business connections and see who might be interested in becoming a financial backer.  Use your reputation as a  Contractor to attract financial supporters.  I am aware that there are those who will say get the deal and the money will come, but that has risks that appear to concern you.  Hope I've helped.

@Corey Johnson Great question!