Should I Start With Wholeselling?

12 Replies

Hello all!

I am a recent college grad and I'm trying to figure out the best way to get into REI. My wife and I both have student loan debt and pay more on student loans than any other debts combined. We have a mortgage on our house that we live in and purchased through a USDA loan. Due to our student loans, we don't have much money saved up and I would like to find a way to get into REI with no money down. Should I start with whole selling? Are there creative ways to buy RE as well with no money down?

Any and all advice is welcomed! As a background, I live in west central Indiana and there are several properties for sale through agents as well as by owner. I feel this could be a great time to get into RE as long as I can manage to do it with no money down. 

Thanks guys!

First of all, it's Wholesaling (not Whole Selling). I'm not knocking you or making fun - but getting the lingo right is an important early step!

If you don't have any cash, wholesaling can be a great (and possibly your only) option. But it's not as easy as it sounds. 

A lot of stars have to align for a wholesale deal to work: You have to find the the right property, at the right time, with the right seller who is willing to allow you to assign the contract, then find a real estate investor for whom that particular property is a good fit at the right time. That can take up a ton of your time.

That being said, work backwards - find a few local rehabbers/flippers who are active in your market and find out what exactly they are looking for first, let them know you want to "bird dog" (find properties) for them, and make sure they are interested in having you bring them deals - only then should you go out and try to find the deals that fit all the right criteria.