Can We get a FHA mortgage with score 640? our Realtor says NO!

8 Replies

Hi Everyone!

I'm a little confused with this, I asked our Realtor if we can buy a property with the FHA mortgage and with 640 credit score because I found a property (a duplex for 175,000 000) that could be good for our first investment he says that we need at least 695 or 700 to get the mortgage but I had read in one of your blogs that that can be possible with at least 620 or something like that . We are going to have an appointment with our bank to try to get the mortgage we are looking for but I'm afraid that they will say No as well can We try anyway or should we wait to work with the score to get it higher?

Greetings! 

Yes, you should be able to get a FHA mortgage with a 640+, but there are many other factors other than credit score. Employment history, debt to income, default judgements, etc. You need to talk to a lender directly to get you pre-approved.

I am a Realtor, and have sold FHA properties to many clients with a 640+ credit score.

It could have something to do with the purchase price of the home. They may only lend you X amount based off of your credit score while the same income with a higher score would be a larger amount. 

Medium head icon colorRyan Dossey, Call Porter | http://Callporter.com

The 640 score isn't a problem on a owner occupied home however investment property may have different standards.  As a Realtor I always tell my clients to check with a lender.  i have lenders that will lend with a 580 and the proper debt to income ration (not more than 43%) I also have lenders that give people a rough time with a 650.  Each to his own in that case.   And I'm guessing the price of the duplex is $175,000 and there may be a few extra zeros on that in your post?  In all seriousness though...check with a lender.  I always tell my clients that the lenders are experts at lending and I am the "expert" at finding them the property they are looking for.