I don't want to be unethical and dishonest.

14 Replies

Hello and greetings to the great world of biggerpockets. I am a newbie in the Tampa Bay Area. I have been a lurker here on the forums for the past 6-7 months and I must say this site is one the best things I have ever encountered on the internet with vast knowledge and great people.

I have recently decided to pull the trigger and "just do it". I am currently in the process of starting my yellow letter campaign that I will hand write for a while until things pick up for me. In regards to wholesaling, I feel that it is unethical and sort of dishonest to pose as a "cash buyer" when my intentions are to flip the contract. This just may be me but it is how I feel about it. I refuse to do any kind of business in an unethical or a dishonest manner. Is there a way a better way to keep the process honest and smooth with the seller? Right now my plan is to take the "I am willing to make you a fair offer" or "Cash for Homes" instead of "I buy houses" approach. Help would truly be appreciated.

Thanks

I think it really just comes down to a matter of how you explain yourself. Most people aren't going to ask if you are a cash buyer if they are off market deals you have found through marketing. I recommend also getting approved with a local HML and a portfolio lender if you can find one. I like knowing I can close like I promised regardless of if I can "find a buyer".

Ryan Dossey, Real Estate Agent in IN (#RB15001099)
800-347-9296

@Ryan D.

I appreciate the input. What would HML or Portfolio Lenders typically require in a case like this being that I am totally new to this?

@Andre Clemons I totally agree with your stance, I felt the same way when I was sending mailers.  I would put "that I may be able to help with their home."  Also I would let them know when I was speaking with them that there are multiple avenues for the them, cash deal, terms, etc.  And the benefits and downfalls of each.