section 8

28 Replies

Hi I am in the processes of creating my business plan. my original plan was to start off with  3 or 4 family building owner occupied. In the process I was contemplating going to a section 8 building. I am a newbie to this site although I've been thinking about investing in real estate for a long time now. Can anyone tell me if they think it would be a good idea for my first property to be a section 8 rental Thanks

Section 8 is pretty strict, but the flipside of that are reliable and dependable payments. In areas with rent control, it can also be almost impossible to move them out.

See also:

http://www.biggerpockets.com/renewsblog/2012/08/10/disadvantages-section-8-rentals/

@John S.

My first SFH rental was Section 8 and I have never looked back. In my area, Baltimore County, the Sec 8 rentals are above market prices. If you have a good screening process you should be fine.

Good Luck,

Scott

That's what I've been hearing a lot have a good screening process.  Thanks Scot 

Excellent book on this subject is called Section 8 bible. You can buy it on Amazon, it has really made me consider getting into section 8 properties.

@Aaron Carter

I've never heard of that book.  Thanks for pointing it out, I'll have to check it out.

Thanks,

Scott

also thanks Juan

I'd of course heard about Section 8, and perhaps because of my brothers' experiences with poor upkeep of their units when renting to Section 8 tenants, had been reluctant to consider trying it.  However, my rental market is completely different than theirs, so as an experiment we did lease one of our 21 units to a young person on Section 8.  They went through the same vetting process as any of our other tenants, and so far has been just as good as the rest.  While I won't actively seek out Section 8 in the future, I won't turn it down flat either.

thanks Aaron I'll be sure to check it out