How to approach a good lead?

2 Replies

I have colleague at work that is looking to sell his home. He's attempted to contact several contractors all to no avail. He's also not happy with his real estate agent and is fixing to drop them. He also asked me if I knew anyone that could help him sell his home. He's not so much concerned with selling quickly as much as he is wanting a good deal on selling the home because he is willing to put in the cosmetic upgrades. I feel this is a great opportunity for me to get involved in a real estate deal but I am unsure how approach the situation. Mind you that I am a newbie to REI here in San Antonio.

My questions are:
1) How do I approach the situation?
2) How can I help him?
3) Should I reach out to some contractors or realtors here on BP to see if we can work together on this deal?
4) What would be step one in a scenario like this?
5) Should I even get involved since it is a work colleague?

Any assistance or advice would be much appreciate!

1) It really depends what hat you're going to wear, and if you're not a realtor it may be tough. The best way could be a friend trying to help.

2) If you have a license, give him your best estimate of what it could really be sold for and let him know you could list it for him. If you're an investor, you could make him a cash offer, but if he's not in distress/highly motivated, it sounds like something to go on the market.

3) You could try to get him a rockstar realtor and try to get some type of a referral fee. In regards to contractors, if there's no serious damage that needs repairing, estimate are not that hard to make on your own. If he's set on fixing and getting a better price, you could meet a few and vet them out to see who is best.