So, how do I really get my foot in the door?

5 Replies

Hello

I am a young professional, looking to invest in my first property. My only problem is that I do not have the capital to do so, and cash is king! I'm a very hard worker, always hands on. Being driven to succeed is my zeal! My main goal is become a real estate developer. HOWEVER, as a 21 year old young lady, I'm pretty unknowing to many aspects of the business. So, Here are my questions:

How did successful investors begin, trial and error? I'm thinking about going that route, and doing it myself, but why have the headache if someone is willing to help me? Who can guide me in the right direction? If I do happen to venture off on my own, what are a few effective ways to finance a property without cash? I have found a motivated seller, and I want this property. Should I bring my friend, who is a real estate attorney, to pitch owner financing? Should I propose a master lease? Should I find a partner/mentor before doing anything? What kind of collateral is the best, without owning a home currently? I am in need of some assistance, and am not afraid to ask. I'd love to hear some responses about how to find prospective mentors. I appreciate your comments, in advance!I 

Thank You,

AJ

If you're 21 I would get my license and have an experienced broker that knows creative financing and work with him-her for a year,

You can search my posts on creative financing such as owner financing, subject to, lease options, and installment sales

Brian,

Thank you for your response. I was thinking that I should get my license, just to have more formal education/knowledge. However, I keep hearing people say that I'm not going to be getting any information that I'd need in the investment facet of the industry. So, skip trying to work with a seasoned investor; just get my license and get a good sponsor?

I really appreciate it.

Lexi

@Alexis Jones