Help!! My Wife Only Gave Me $10K

125 Replies

So here's my challenge.  I want to start investing in RE but my wife isn't so thrilled.  She says I can have $10K to start out with.  If I can make some money using that she says I can have more.  (Guess who pays the bills?)

So, I said to her, "How do you expect me to do anything with that?"

She says, "You're always on that Bigger Pockets website.  Why not ask them?"

So here I am.

What do you all think?  She says I have to do this alone.  No cheating with Clubs, partnering up, etc.

Would you go for a mobile home?  Vacant land?  Can you make any money with $10K?

I'm no pro, but I'd take 1k at least and do some marketing. Buy an absentee owners list and send out some flyers, maybe do some bandit signs depending on the are. 10k isnt a bad way to start... 

Thanks Randy.  What would you put on the signs or in the fliers?

I think you're approaching this the wrong way.  Rather than have to "prove" to your wife something, maybe you should involve her more and talk with her and make it a project both of you can get into. Otherwise it seems like a "you versus her" thing.

Dawn Anastasi, Core Properties, LLC | http://www.coreprop.biz | Podcast Guest on Show #29

For bandit signs the usual "I buy houses" is good but bandit signs can be a huge pain. Its time consuming and a lot of them get taken down.. In my market there are a lot of elderly homeowners, so I use hand written yellow letters because they seem to like intimacy. it makes it feel more compassionate than some printed thing. If you are newer to the game, sit on youtube for an afternoon and just watch videos on marketing. You'll be a pro in no time. Just type in things like real estate marketing 101, yellow letter campaigns, bandit signs, absentee lists, yata yata. Good Luck! Cheers! 

My wife and I have gotten along beautifully for 30 years.  This just doesn't really interest her the way it does me. (Unless it makes money of course.  LOL )