With a few numbers can I analyze a multifamily deal

7 Replies

I am looking for multifamily commercial property, of 12 units or more. I found listings basically give limited information about the property, such as a listing in Pennsylvania, 16 unit for 1,600,000 the ad proceeds to it for me that the property has a 7% cap rate, with an NOI of 181,800, at 99% occupancy. From this information could I quickly analyze whether this is a good deal or something that I should pass on? I fully intend to acquire with the realtor additional information about expenses and taxes that rent rolls etc. etc. but I was just wondering if I look at this number or these numbers would I be able to tell if I'm wasting my time.

Hey William!

I am a newbie at real estate, so take my post with a grain of salt, but I have studied it for years now and I may have some knowledge on how to analyze this deal. When I first read this i saw the 16 units for 1.6 mil. This is $100,000 per unit, and for a multi-family I believe this is really high. In some markets you can get a 4-plex at $150,000 and have $37,500 per unit. But this is not a huge issue, because it's all about the returns right? 

The NOI is $181,800 per year or $15150 per month. Since you do not have the details on the property yet, lets assume we use the 50% rule. If you are unfamiliar with the 50% rule it is basically stating that 50% of your monthly NOI goes to utilities, maintenance, cap ex, and so on. Then you take that number and subtract your mortgage payment from it. Lets play with numbers here and say you got an 80% LTV, so you need to find out how to get $320,000 up front. Lets say you get a 30 year flat rate loan at 9%, this interest is just an arbitrary number, but commercial loans are more expensive than residential. That would come out to be about $10,299.17 per month. 50% of the monthly NOI is $7575, subtract the loan and you get -$2724.17.