Story of a Trying Newbie -- My 1st Purchase

7 Replies

Hello, everyone. I'm a new real estate investor. I would like to share the story of my first home. It's not a success story, rather a learning experience. Since I'm not good at writing, I organized the story in the easiest form for me. If the pictures don't come out in the post. I'll post them later.

Time

Fall 2008

Situation

• Graduated from state college w/ no student loan
  • Internship job paid for college expenses
  • Parents gave me some money intended for college tuition. Majority of it’s saved.
  • Living with parents in SoCal

Goal

• Move out of parents’ house
  • Buy a property close to work (30min in traffic to Downtown LA)
  • Target area: Pasadena, San Gabriel Valley (A neighborhood for safety reasons)
  • Price range $300K~ $400K for 2bd condo

Action

• Budget expenses to save more money for 20% down payment
  • Created a spreadsheet and figured I could save $1000 per paycheck, $2000 per month
  • Created a spreadsheet to project my savings

Time

Spring 2010

Situation

Own more than $80K in the savings

Goal

Purchase target condo in Pasadena (short sale, some repairs needed)

Action

• Made spreadsheet to find out if I can afford the condo and the repairs needed
  • Proceeded to offer and eventually got the condo with 20% down
  • Received 1st time home buyer credit, $8000 from fed, $1000/3 years from state
House
Down payment $71,800
House Price $359,000
Loan $287,200
% Down Payment 20.0
Loan Term (Year) 30
Loan Interest Rate 5.25
Monthly Payment $1,586 

Time

May 2010 – Jan 2014

Situation

• The majority of my paycheck is tied up in the house
  • Frequent plumbing problems including leaky toilet from upstairs unit
  • HOA reserve is underfunded
  • Condo hacked by renting out spare bedroom at $900/mo

Goal

Upgrade to a more effective investment property

Action

• Fixed up condo with credits received
  • Put in new flooring
  • Sold condo at $428K, cashed out with a total of $200K