[Kind of]Starting Out: Need Advice and Self Introduction

22 Replies

Hi BP family,

I am a software engineer from SF Bay Area. Working at one of the top companies in the world, I love my job, earn a very good salary and have no plan to quit.

My buddy (also software eng) and I have quite a bit of cash and will like to buy and hold a few properties with equity and good cash flow.

I've been in touch with quite a few members on the BP and yet to find any property with good rental income and equity. Some prices offered are even higher than the MLS. Granted I will be out of state and am willing to pay a little bit of premium for turnkey, but the price and/or income ratio are just not making sense.

Are there good suggestions for equity and cash flow? Or should I hold my cash and wait for the next collapse. Please advise. Any input is welcome.

Hey Harry! Nooo, don't wait on the next collapse! You'll miss out on way too much money in the meantime. And very cool on the software engineering... I was an aerospace engineer and gained a huge appreciation for the software engineers working around me, mostly because I'm fairly computer-stupid and bugged them constantly to help me :)

I live down in LA, so I only buy out-of-states as well, and almost all of my properties are turnkey. When you say you aren't finding numbers that work-- what numbers are you looking for and what numbers are you finding? How much are you looking for in cash flow and how much in equity?

Thanks for taking the time to reply @Ali Boone . I've been reading your posts.

I am interested in SFH up to 4-plex. Obviously I am not experience with out-of-state investing, but my goal is:

• Cash flow: I know 2% is hard to find now, but I'd like to have at least 1.2% or so.
  • Equity: I am shooting for 15% under market value. Is that impossible?