401K ANNUITY

7 Replies

I am a newbie to investing. I have 400K in a variable annuity earning around 4%. I know investing in real estate will probably earn more but I am skeptical about moving funds out of the Annuity to invest. I am 63 years old. Do anyone have any suggestions on what I should do. I have already talked to a financial planner and financial planner is suggesting that I leave it in the Annuity even though I am not making much of a return on my investment. Should I invest in Real Estate? 

You should consider your surrender charges if you have held the annuity for only a few years. Many financial advisors want you to keep annuities because they continue to get a commission.
I invest in stocks and have 43 rentals. I like rentals, but a lot of people find it too much work.

Thanks Kim for the reply. Do you know of any way to get around or reduce the surrender charges ?

@Bobby Hughes ,

I'm not sure what your options are with an annuity that has already been established, but I would ask your financial adviser / annuity account representative if you have the option to convert that annuity to another form of tax-deferred retirement account. If you can, you can take advantage of a SDIRA (self directed IRA), and at a minimum of involvement from you invest in a REIT, most of which can provide returns of AT LEAST 8% and some over 14%.

You can also loan money out from your SDIRA and earn money that way, but you have to be educated about vetting the borrower with regards to their creditworthiness and their experience at real estate investing.

If you're more interested in being involved in your real estate investment, you can make over 20%, but that route requires A LOT of education as well as personal involvement in the management of your real estate holdings.

If you can't do anything tax-deferred with the annuity, it might not be worth it because of the taxes you would have to pay upon the withdrawal of the money to move it to another account.