How do i start in investing in multi family rentals?

7 Replies

I am a beginner follower in interest in real estate investing.  The biggest question for me is do I need good or great credit to start on this real estate journey?

Thank you,

Monica

There are numerous posts and articles about getting started. Just use the search box to get started. 

@Monica Miramontez

Welcome. Fill in the foundation below.

Check out the Start Here page http://www.biggerpockets.com/starthere

Check out BiggerPockets Ultimate Beginner's Guide - A fantastic free book that walks through many of the key topics of real estate investing.

Check out the free BiggerPockets Podcast - A weekly podcast with interviews and a ton of great advice. And you get the benefit of having over 100 past ones to catch up on.

Locate and attend 3 different local REIA club meetings great place to meet people gather resources and info. Here you will meet wholesalers who provide deals and rehabbers (cash buyers). Find them through Google and meetup.com

Two Great reads, I bought both J. Scott The Book on Flipping Houses, The Book on Estimating ReHab Costs http://www.biggerpockets.com/flippingbook

Consider checking out HUD homes for small multi's owner occupied gets first crack.

Download BP’s newest book here some good due diligence in Chapter 10. Real Estate Rewind Starting over

http://www.biggerpockets.com/files/user/brandonatbp/file/real-estate-rewind-a-biggerpockets-community-book

Good Luck

Paul 

@Monica Miramontez howdy!

Nothing wrong with being a beginner. I don't want you to fall into any easy yellow brick road tricks. Your income raises to your know how.

The other commenters are steering you straight. Exhaust all the free resources here while you repair your credit and save up some money.

When you get your multifamily (and you absolutely can do so) you're going to need a solid cash cushion.