I want to get into the game, but I need advice!

4 Replies

Hello everyone, I know my title is a little vague, but it is as it sounds, I want to get into the game of real estate investing, but I need advice! 

My name is John, I'm 23 years old and I'm in the navy, and I'm new to the idea of real estate investing but am very intrigued by it. There are a few reasons I want to get into the "game" of real estate investing. To name a few, I want money for my my daughter's future, I want to help get rid of my parent's mortgage as fast as possible, and I want to give my family the financial freedom they deserve. I know it sounds a little cliche, but realistically, who doesn't want these things right? 

Now, being in the navy I have a great option called a VA loan. I've read a few posts, blogs, books, and listened to a few podcasts here on biggerpockets along with a few books on investing.

My plan as of now is to buy a piece of property every station I get assigned to and use it as rental property when I leave that said duty station. Here is where my problem resides. I want to get started into real estate investing now but I only have 18 months left here (in Virginia Beach) but I don't know if it is wise for me to buy a house to rent now, or if i should wait until I get to my next duty station. 

The VA loan is good for use once at a time until I am able to pay it off or refinance with another company. My intentions are to use the VA loan to buy a house, maybe live in it a few months, refinance with another company and rent it out when a move.