Landlording in a trust, I need help understanding this?

5 Replies

Hello all,

I am new to BP, and I need help

I am worried about exposing the beneficiary of a trust to a tenant.

To whom should the tenant make the check out to, the Trust or Beneficiary?

When I open a bank account, does the bank not ask for the name of the beneficiary or the do I give the name of the trust?

Antonio

who is the tenant renting from?  who are you in this relationship?  If you are a 3rd party, representing a property you don't have an ownership interest in, what does the law say to do?  Should have been covered in your licensing.

Let me clarify the question.

I am not licensed, nor am I acting as an agent. 

I would be the owner of the property. The property would be in the trust, The beneficiary  would be a secret, does the tenant send a check to the Trust or the beneficiary to be deposited at the bank?

Thanks for replying

Create a company and open accounts in that name.  It does not have to be a formal pain in the a$$ thing like an llc or such.  Just go to your bank and open a new checking account in your name....Antonio Cordeiro dba Keeping a secret from my tenants.   They pay the company name....in this example Keeping a secret from my tenants.  You take the check and deposit it like normal.  

No need to tell them you own it or the name of the trust etc.  They sign a lease agreement between themselves and the property management company that has the contractual rights to represent that property.  The fact that you own both and the company is really a shell only for the purpose of keeping them in the dark is irrelevant and none of their business.