Walk the property? Or make an offer then walk it?

14 Replies

Hi. I am a newb trying to put together a new deal. I have found a rehab multi that I like and believe has potential. It definitely needs rehab before anyone can move in. Im confused as to what my next steps would be. If it were not needing rehab before someone could move in I would make an offer subject to an inspection and then walk it with contractor/inspector to see where we stood. 

However, since this one needs significant repairs before hand, is it unreasonable to contact the selling agent (i don't have a buying agent) to request sometime to walk through it with a couple of guys BEFORE putting an offer on it?

That is my leading option. The next one is contacting a 203k mortgage broker to find out how much I can afford in a mortgage before making an offer on the property. But I can't get fully approved for 203k without getting bids out to contractors.

Even typing this out, I think the way to go is to see if I can look at it before submitting an offer simply to see if it is even worth my time. 

Everything is boarded up so I cant see inside, by the way. 

Dave, 

Since you are new to this industry, play it safe. I would definitely go take a look at the building first. You'll need the practice in assessing repair dollars anyway. In order to know if it's truly a good deal you'll need to know how much repair work. 

Don't let the boards on the building fool you. Call the agent to see the inside, its not unreasonable. Boards can easily be taken off the doors. Do ask about structural damage for safety reasons.

Good luck!

I would not even think of making an offer till I saw the inside.

Sabrina Baldwin Alexander Felice Ed Larson Thanks for your input. It's unanimous. I'll contact him to see when I can get in.