Real Estate Investing as a Side Job for Pilots

9 Replies

Hi All,

This is my first post, so hopefully I have this in the right spot in the forums, but I have always been fascinated in real estate, especially in buy and hold and house flipping.  That being said, I am a pilot and while I don't have much free time on my hands in my current role, there a number of pilot jobs with pretty cushy schedules... 7 days on 7 days off, or on call 24/7 but you really only get called 15 days a month.  Are there any other pilots on BP that have been able to be successful in the real estate investment scene?  Or is that a bit of a pipe dream?

With that schedule its actually pretty easy. I started when I was a Federal Air Marshal.  I was in the air 5 days a week and sometimes on shot notice out of the country for a week or two.  

All you need to get started is an internet connection and parts of a team.  Actually all you need at the start is a RE lawyer. 

The super bonus is that you have plenty of time to read, and that is very powerful  

So click the auto-pilot switch and start investing

To your success

Josh

Hi Josh,

Thanks for the input! It's great to here that others in the same industry have been able to make it work. Truthfully, being able to read, learn and grow is probably one of the biggest perks to this kind of schedule. I am really excited to get started up on the whole REI thing and I have been soaking up every thing I can (forums, BP podcasts, recommended reading lists, etc). Thanks again

Taylor

@Taylor Kitchens