What is the best legal entity to obtain for flipping houses in FL?

9 Replies

Hi Everyone!

I am new to the home flipping industry in Tampa Bay and am seeking feedback on which type of business entity I should pursue. I am obviously looking to maximize my coverages and protection, while minimize my taxation. 

I have a partner, and a CPA suggested either going with an LLC or a Limited Partnership, which is the path on which we are already headed. My partner is looking to have his personal assets out of the reach of any third parties.

I know LLCs and LPs pass through taxable income and loss, thus avoiding the double tax on income that is inflicted upon corporations, and owners of LLCs and LPs can claim the losses on their tax returns. An advantage of LLCs, is that the owners may claim tax losses in excess of their investments, such as on certain leveraged real estate investments. 

Any further insights/advice/reasons to go one way or another? 

I appreciate any feedback. 

Thanks,

Jon

LLC, taxed a s a SubS, to help avoid/recude self employment-SS/Med taxes.

@Jonathan Drago

If your CPA suggested an LLP, I'd strongly suggest getting a new, real estate savvy CPA. Not to mention that the majority of states only allow professional service providors to utilize the LLP structure.

@Wayne Brooks is correct in that generally, you will want to set up an LLC and elect sub chapter S (S-Corp) as your taxation structure. This election will help you minimize self-employment tax liability.

@Wayne Brooks , @Brandon Hall , thanks for the feedback! I believe the reason I was given the discussion on LP, is that my partner does not want to have any liability from 3rd parties. Were they wrong to say that with LPs, I would be considered the general partner with all liability? I'll have to check on FL's laws regarding the LLP entity and professional service providers.