Whole Sale Question

3 Replies

I found a FSBO property being sold for $155k in the best neighborhood in our area. Comps show an ARV of $265k on the low end and repairs seem to be mostly cosmetic. I'm a newbie and have a few people I've met at local networks and spent time with, but none that I know well enough to partner with me. I'm considering just going the wholesale route with it. Can anyone tell me, do I have to secure financing in order to wholesale the property, or do I just need a signed contract? I can't secure financing for the full $155k. I could do 75k in cash and 35k in financing, so without a partner, I'm wondering if I can pull off a wholesale on what appears to be a great opportunity. Any advice is greatly appreciated! Thanks

I don't wholesale, let that be a grain of salt. It shouldn't matter if you have any financing to do a wholesale deal. 

What you need to do is talk with the seller, let him know what you are going to do (find an end buyer for him for no cost to him), and how much time you think it will take to do it. You can word this however you feel like, but the end result should be the same, he gets 155k and the property is sold in 30/45/60 days. 

Once you have that contract you then market the property and markup whatever kind of cut the end user can afford and is worthwhile to you. 

On the high side how much repairs are needed? How many months will it take to do it? Why aren't you getting a hard money lender to back you and do it yourself? How much will the end investor make if he buys from you, rehabs it including uknowns, carry's the property while it sits empty, markets for a buyer, pays a commission, closing costs 2 times, and sells 5-10% under market so it moves quick?