How soon is too soon to set up shop?

10 Replies

I'm just starting out in the REI world in Suffolk County, Long Island, New York and focusing my time and energy on educating myself but I also want to keep moving forward while i'm still learning. I see my focus and strategy in buy and hold multifamily residential ultimately moving into commercial. SO the question is how soon should I be creating an entity, LLC, creating a website, printing up business cards, marketing, etc.?

@Timothy Ryan

My two cents is to hold off on the LLC until the need arises, i.e., you've found a property, get under contract, etc.

As far as business cards and a website, do it now. Business cards are still great for networking events and a properly optimized website can be a great tool for gather leads and writing articles to start getting you name out there.

Best of luck.

Originally posted by @Brooks Rembert :

@Timothy Ryan

My two cents is to hold off on the LLC until the need arises, i.e., you've found a property, get under contract, etc.

As far as business cards and a website, do it now. Business cards are still great for networking events and a properly optimized website can be a great tool for gather leads and writing articles to start getting you name out there.

Best of luck.

This ^. Don't get bogged down in creating all these perfect little pieces before taking real action though. I did this for a while; I played with lists for direct mail, tweaked my website, read, read some more...

I realized I was doing "busy work" and fooling myself into thinking I was accomplishing something. Making offers on properties is the only way we make money in the end. Do that sooner than later. You don't need any of the things you mentioned to make an offer on a property. 

Hello Timothy, I agree with Brooks on this one. The only thing I would add is be certain you have reserves if your going the buy and hold route. Helps you sleep better at night.

Best of luck!