Starting out at a 19 year old college student

14 Replies

I am 19 years old with limited financials and am attending college, I don't think I have time or the financial status to flip houses while in college. I was wondering what would be a good place to start where I could Invest during my college years. I have no experience and I am looking for some guidance.

I go to school in Boston

@Aaron Gaskell

Welcome to Biggerpockets. Books like Investing with No Money Down or Flipping Houses might be of help to you. Also, networking with people near you can help you find a mentor that maybe can help you out start in your real estate goals. 

Good luck and great success to your REI journey.

Hey Aaron,

It's great to start early. Read the bigger pockets beginners guide and all of there ultimate guides to (blank). I found those to be very useful. Also listen to the pod casts, lots of great info in them from real life experience. If I were in your place. I would buy a triplex or four plex with a FHA loan with 3.5% down. You could rent out the other units and rent out rooms in your unit to friends and not just have no expenses, but live at college for free and make money doing it. The other thing I would do it download the single family house analyzer from the documents section. I use it all the time to calc small multi families. Hope this helps!

1. Try to get a job as an on site leasing agent at an apartment complex. You will get free or reduced rent and learn the ropes about property management and sales. 2. Decide if you want to go into residential and commercial. Offer to intern under a top performer in that field. 3. Build up your credit score to 750+ and save money.