Newbie needs help to start please!!

13 Replies

Hi everyone! My name is Mai Holmquist. I'm from Fresno, CA. My husband and I own a home that we both live in for a couple years now. I want to use the equity of the house to help jump start my investing. Should I refinance the house or pull out an equity loan? 

Hey Mai,

I am actually in the same boat. My current mortgage rate is so low (3.35) that I didn't bother refinancing, I'm actually taking out a home equity loan. I'll pay off what's left of my mortgage, and use the rest for the purchase of my first rental property. Working on my guest bathroom now, so can't actually pull the money out until it's finished. 

Trust me, I'm a newbie too and this site, especially the webinars hosted by Brandon has taught me so much.

This post has been removed.

@Mai Holmquist

Welcome to Bigger Pockets community. Be sure to check out “Learn” for all kinds of useful resources and free how to guides.

@Tish Boyd

Is the rate on your home mortgage 3.35% or is that the rate on your HE loan? If that is the rate of your mortgage, may I ask what rate you got on your equity loan?

@Mai Holmquist

Mai, there is an AskBP podcast that addresses the positives & negatives of HELOC's and equity loans. Maybe that will help you firm up your decision. I'm planning to take out a HELOC on my home for that reason, too. Good luck!

@Tish Boyd

My interest rate on the house is already low too. Ill definitely look into getting an equity loan. Good luck on the guest bathroom! :)

@Mark Nolan

Ill sure do that. Thank you

@Jeanie H.

Those podcasts are very helpful. Ill look for the one you mentioned specifically. Thank you

@Mai Holmquist I live in San Jose and just did this over the past 9 Months and got 6 properties in Birmingham and Indianapolis.  Let me know if I can help. 

@Mai thanks and best of luck. I'll keep you posted and hope you do the same.